Parent Teacher Association

National Institute of Technology Calicut, Calicut 673 601, KeralaPresidentSecretaryJt.Secretary-cumTreasurer

Dr.A.P.Shashikala apska@nitc.ac.in 0495-2286103 (O) Dr. Rama Subrahmanyam Komaragiri rama@nitc.ac.in 0495-2286711(O) Jt.Secretary-cumTrease Dr.Arun.P arun.p@nitc.ac.in 0495-2286424(O)

Email: crecpta@gmail.com, Ph:-0495 2286126

Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting held at 12 PM on Saturday the 24th of January, 2015

in Conference Room, NITC Guest House

The meeting started at 12 Noon. The minutes of the Meeting are given below:

1. Dr.A.P.Shashikala, President PTA welcomed all the members and formally introduced Dr. Rama Subrahmanyam Komaragiri, Associate Professor ECED, as the new Secretary of CREC PTA.

The members acknowledged the excellent services by Dr. S. D.Madhukumar to PTA in his capacity as the former Secretary of the PTA.

2. Minutes of the last ECM

The minutes of the previous Executive Committee Meeting held on October 25, 2014 were presented by the Secretary and was confirmed.

3. Agenda of Annual General Body meeting

The agenda of the Annual General Body Meeting was presented by the Secretary and was confirmed by the members.

4. Request from Mr.G.Srinivasa Rao, M.Tech.Student, MED for Financial Assistance.

The committee considered the request from Mr.G.Srinivasa Rao, M.Tech.Student, MED for financial assistance as he had met with an accident in the Institute. After discussions, the Committee decided to sanction a financial assistance of Rs.50,000/- to Mr. G Srinivasa Rao. Out of the total sanctioned amount Rs.25,000/- would be released to him as an interim amount and the remaining amount would be paid subsequently.

5. Request from Ms.Fathima Beegum A, B.Tech.Student, Architecture for Financial Assistance

The committee considered the request from Ms.Fathima Beegum A. It was decided to provide a onetime maximum financial assistance of Rs 10,000/- to the student. This would be as a reimbursement of expenditure incurred by her for mess bill or any such expenditure related to her academic activities. The committee suggested scrutinizing the academic records of the student by the Faculty Adviser and the Departmental PTA Coordinator before the release of the financial assistance.

6. Request from Chairperson, ETL for Financial Support for providing student assistance in the existing study room facility.

The Committee ratified the decision of providing financial support for the student assistants in the Library Study Room facility based on the request from Chairperson ETL.

7. Discussion on the Action Plan for the current year

The committee decided to continue with the works already initiated and being executed by PTA.

8. Budget proposed for the current year

Dr.Arun P, Joint Secretary and Treasurer presented the budget for the current financial year and was approved by the Committee after discussions.

9. Any other matter:

- 1. The Dean Students Welfare informed about the meeting of the Director with CPWD officials and ensured that construction works related to the Mega Hostel are proceeding well. Street Lights have been already installed and the CNC has taken up the work of installation of internet connection systems.
- 2. Shri. Suresh Kumar mentioned that PTA should provide support for the girl students in the Ladies Hostels to maintain their hostel study room. Dean Students Welfare suggested that the Hostel Section could assist in this regard.
- 3. The Secretary suggested that funding for cultural activities like Ragam, could be in the form of sponsorship of any specific event by the PTA rather than giving a consolidated amount for the event. It was decided to discuss further on this matter based on the request from the Ragam Committee.
- 4. The Committee observed that to strengthen the financial situation of the PTA, steps should be taken to enhance the student's contribution which is collected as a part of their fees.
- 5. It was decided that the next Executive Committee Meeting would be held during March 2015 The meeting came to end at 1.15 PM.

Following members attended the meeting.

- 1. Dr. A P Shashikala
- 2. Dr. M L Joy
- 3. Dr. Rama Subrahmanyam Komaragiri
- 4. Dr. Arun P
- 5. Dr.Suma C
- 6. Mr. Madhavan M P
- 7. Mr. Suresh Kumar D B
- 8. Mr.Zainl Abid P
- 9. Mr.Nirmal Kumar E K

Sd/

Secretary