C.R.E.C. Parent Teacher Association

National Institute of Technology Calicut, Calicut 673 601, Kerala

President
Dr. Sathidevi P S
sathi@nitc.ac.in
0495-2286103 (O)

Secretary
Dr. A Shaija
shaija@nitc.ac.in
0495-2286427(0)

Jt.Secretary-cum Treasurer
Dr. Sudhish N George
sudhish@nitc.ac.in
0495-2286716(O)

Email: nitcpta@nitc.ac.in, Ph:-0495 2286126

18-02-2019

Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting held at 12.15 pm on 9th Feb 2019 in the Institute Guest House

The meeting started at 12.15 pm on 9th Feb. 2019 in the Institute Guest House. Dr. A Shaija, Secretary, welcomed the members to the meeting. The minutes of the meeting are given below:

- 1. The executive committee analyzed the activities of the PTA. Dr. A Shaija, Secretary read the minutes of last EC Meeting and explained the actions taken by the institute based on the decisions in the last meeting.
- 2. Dr. P S Sathidevi, President, PTA briefed the following activities done/initiated by the institute.
 - a. Subramonia Iyer Lekshmi Ammal (SILA) Scholarship was instituted by REC alumni Mr. Sivaramkrishnan S Iyer (CREC 1967 1972 B. Tech Civil Engineering) for students of the Department of Civil Engineering, NIT Calicut. An initial contribution of Rs. 40,00,000/- (Rupees Forty lakh only) was handed over to the CREC Silver Jubilee Endowment Trust (SJET) on 30-01-2019, from which the scholarship amount would be disbursed.
 - b. The best graduating B. Tech student of the institute would be presented with the *Prof. Allesu Kanjirathinkal Memorial Award*, during the Annual Convocation Ceremony of the Institute, from the year 2019 onwards. The award has been instituted consequent to an agreement signed between Dr. Rose Kanjirathinkal, daughter of Prof. Allesu Kanjirathinkal, and SJET (Silver Jubilee Endowment Trust). The awardee would receive Rs. 10000/-, a certificate and a gold medal.
 - c. The RECCA US Chapter has started mentoring the students of NIT Calicut and they have offered internship programs to the students.
 - d. A Creative Zone is constructed in the institute which is fully funded by the Alumni.
 - e. The initial process of installing solar panels in the institute with the help of KSEB has already started.
 - f. The numbers of expert lectures organized by different departments increased this academic year as suggested in the last ECM.
 - g. The Department of Training & Placement cell has initiated more steps to improve the internship programs for the students of the institute. The department of T & P has

- formed a new team consisting of representatives from each department to enhance internship/placement activities.
- h. A new scheme with 100% funding has been started for the innovative projects done by the students under the Dean (R&C).
- 3. A suggestion was made to give a special room to the Students Guidance Cell (SGC) to ensure confidential counseling to the needy students. Currently, such a facility is not available in the room allotted to the SGC. EC expressed its appreciation on the activities of the SGC.
- 4. A suggestion was made to install surveillance cameras in the hostel premises without affecting students' privacy, so that the unauthorized entry of outsiders could be monitored.
- 5. The EC insisted that a separate head for PTA fund be included in the institute fee structure.
- 6. It was decided to reduce the financial assistance to SJET to an amount of Rs. 50000/- in the coming year.
- 7. A suggestion was made to include a parent member (preferably a Psychologist) in the Grievance cell.
- 8. A proposal to have a suitable name to the new central library has been made.
- 9. Parent members suggested that the request of the girl students regarding the extension of the entry time to Ladies Hostel to 11 pm is not reasonable. They mentioned that the current system is good and that the students are getting permission for academic, cultural and sports activities with the recommendation of Faculty Advisor/ concerned faculty.

The meeting ended at 1.30 pm.

Members Present

- 1. Dr. P S Sathidevi
- 2. Dr. S D Madhukumar
- 3. Dr. A Shaija
- 4. Mr. Praveen Kumar D
- 5. Mrs. Shajeena V
- 6. Mr. Kurian Joseph
- 7. Dr. Sudhish N George